
LIVING WAGE REQUIREMENTS FOR SERVICE CONTRACTS 
 

SUBMIT WITH THE MASTER CONTRACTOR’S TASK ORDER RESPONSE TO A TORFP 
 

A. This contract is subject to the Living Wage requirements under Title 18, State Finance and 
Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and the regulations proposed by the Commissioner 
of Labor and Industry. The Living Wage generally applies to a Contractor or Subcontractor who 
performs work on a State contract for services that is valued at $100,000 or more. An employee is 
subject to the Living Wage if he/she is at least 18 years old or will turn 18 during the duration of the 
contract; works at least 13 consecutive weeks on the State Contract and spends at least one-half of the 
employee’s time during any work week on the State Contract.   

 
B. The Living Wage Law does not apply to: 

 
(1)  A Contractor who: 
   

(A)  has a State contract for services valued at less than $100,000, or   
 

(B) employs 10 or fewer employees and has a State contract for services valued at less 
than $500,000. 

   
       (2)  A Subcontractor who:  

 
(A) performs work on a State contract for services valued at less than $100,000, 

  
(B) employs 10 or fewer employees and performs work on a State contract for 

services valued at less than $500,000, or 
 
(C) performs work for a contractor not covered by the Living Wage Law as defined in 

B(1)(B) above, or B (3) or C below. 
 
(3)  Service contracts for the following: 
 
  (A) services with a Public Service Company; 
 
  (B) services with a nonprofit organization; 
 

(C) services with an officer or other entity that is in the Executive Branch of the State 
government and is authorized by law to enter into a procurement (“Unit”); or 

 
  (D) services between a Unit and a County or Baltimore City. 

  
C. If the Unit responsible for the State contract for services determines that application of the Living 

Wage would conflict with any applicable Federal program, the Living Wage does not apply to the 
contract or program.  

 
D. A Contractor must not split or subdivide a State contract for services, pay an employee through a third 

party, or treat an employee as an independent contractor or assign work to employees to avoid the 
imposition of any of the requirements of Title 18, State Finance and Procurement, Annotated Code of 
Maryland. 

 
E. Each Contractor/Subcontractor, subject to the Living Wage Law, shall post in a prominent and easily 

accessible place at the work site(s) of covered employees a notice of the Living Wage Rates, employee 
rights under the law, and the name, address, and telephone number of the Commissioner. 



 
F. The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall adjust the wage rates by the annual average increase or 

decrease, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the Washington/Baltimore 
metropolitan area, or any successor index, for the previous calendar year, not later than 90 days after 
the start of each fiscal year. The Commissioner shall publish any adjustments to the wage rates on the 
Division of Labor and Industry’s Website. An employer subject to the Living Wage Law must comply 
with the rate requirements during the initial term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods, 
including any increases in the wage rate, required by the Commissioner, automatically upon the 
effective date of the revised wage rate. 

 
G. A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer’s 

share of the health insurance premium, as provided in §18-103(c), State Finance and Procurement 
Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall not lower an employee’s wage rate below the minimum 
wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland. A 
Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer’s share 
of health insurance premium shall comply with any record reporting requirements established by the 
Commissioner of Labor and Industry. 

 
H. A Contractor/Subcontractor may reduce the wage rates paid under §18-103(a), State Finance and 

Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland, by no more than 50 cents of the hourly cost of the 
employer’s contribution to an employee’s deferred compensation plan.  A Contractor/Subcontractor 
who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer’s contribution to an employee’s 
deferred compensation plan shall not lower the employee’s wage rate below the minimum wage as set 
in §3-413, Labor and Employment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.   

 
I. Under Title 18, State and Finance Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, if the 

Commissioner determines that the Contractor/Subcontractor violated a provision of this title or 
regulations of the Commissioner, the Contractor/Subcontractor shall pay restitution to each affected 
employee, and the State may assess liquidated damages of $20 per day for each employee paid less 
than the Living Wage. 

 
J. Information pertaining to reporting obligations may be found by going to the DLLR Website 

http://www.dllr.state.md.us/ and clicking on Living Wage.      
 

http://www.dllr.state.md.us/


 Attachment L’s Affidavit of Agreement Maryland Living 
Wage Requirements-Service Contracts   

 
  

 Contract No. ________________________________  

Name of Contractor _______________________________________________________  

Address_________________________________________________________________  

City_________________________________ State________ Zip Code_______________  

If the Contract is Exempt from the Living Wage Law  

The Undersigned, being an authorized representative of the above named Contractor, hereby 
affirms that the Contract is exempt from Maryland’s Living Wage Law for the following
reasons: (check all that apply)  

__ Offeror is a nonprofit organization  
__  Offeror is a public service company  
__  Offeror employs 10 or fewer employees and the proposed contract value is  

 less than $500,000.  
__  Offeror employs more than 10 employees and the proposed contract value is less 

than $100,000.  

If the Contract is a Living Wage Contract 

A.  The Undersigned, being an authorized representative of the above named Contractor, 
hereby affirms our commitment to comply with Title 18, State Finance and Procurement Article,
Annotated Code of Maryland and, if required, to submit all payroll reports to the Commissioner of
Labor and Industry with regard to the above stated contract. The Bidder/Offeror agrees to pay
covered employees who are subject to living wage at least the living wage rate in effect at the time
service is provided for hours spent on State contract activities, and to ensure that its
Subcontractors who are not exempt also pay the required living wage rate to their covered
employees who are subject to the living wage for hours spent on a State contract for services.  The
Contractor agrees to comply with, and ensure its Subcontractors comply with, the rate 
requirements during the initial term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods, including
any increases in the wage rate established by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry,
automatically upon the effective date of the revised wage rate.  
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Attachment L’s (continued) Affidavit of Agreement 
Maryland Living Wage Requirements-Service Contracts 

 
 

 

B. _____________________ (initial here if applicable) The Offeror affirms it has no covered 
employees for the following reasons: (check all that apply)  

 

__  All employee(s) proposed to work on the State contract will be 17 years of age 
or younger during the duration of the State contract; or, 

__  All employee(s) proposed to work on the State contract will work less than 13 
consecutive weeks on the State contract. 

__  All employee(s) proposed to work on the State contract will spend less than one-
half of the employee’s time during every work week on the State;   

 

 

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry reserves the right to request payroll records and other 
data that the Commissioner deems sufficient to confirm these affirmations at any time.   

 

 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
Name of Authorized Representative (Type or Print Clearly)  

 

_____________________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Authorized Representative     Date  

 ____________________________________________ 
Title   

 
___________________________________________________________

 
_ 

_____________________________________________________________ 
Witness Signature        Date  

Advisory 
2007-1 

Attachment D 
12/10/07 


