State Holidays for the Year 2017

State Personnel Management System - State Holidays for the 2017  

New Year's Day* Monday January 2
Birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr Monday January 16
Presidents' Day Monday February 20
Memorial Day Monday May 29
Independence Day Tuesday July 4
Labor Day Monday September 4
Columbus Day Monday October 9
Veterans Day* Friday November 10
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 23
American Indian Heritage Day Friday November 24
Christmas Day Monday December 25

*
When a State holiday occurs on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday is observed on the Friday before or the Monday after the actual holiday, respectively.

Note: Agencies that provide 24-hour, 7-days-a-week services may conform to the above schedule by providing employees 11 days of holiday leave at alternate times. The appointing authorities of these agencies will provide more specific information concerning holiday scheduling.​​