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YOUR BENEFIT PLAN 
 
 
 

State of Maryland 
 
 
 

All Class 1 and Class 2 Employees  
as shown in the Eligible Class description 

 
 
 

Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
 
 

 

 

Certificate Date:  January 1, 2022 

 



 

 
 
 
State of Maryland 
301 West Preston Street, Room 509 
Baltimore, MD 21201 
 
 
 
 
 
TO OUR EMPLOYEES: 
 
 
All of us appreciate the protection and security insurance provides. 
 
This certificate describes the benefits that are available to you. We urge you to read it carefully. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

State of Maryland 
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Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 

200 Park Avenue, New York, New York  10166 
 

CERTIFICATE RIDER 
 
Group Policy No.: 
 

215917-1-G 

Policyholder: 
 

State of Maryland 

Effective Date: 
 

January 1, 2022 

 
The Group Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance Certificate is changed as follows: 
 
To add the following definition of Child to the certificate: (for residents of Louisiana, Montana, New Mexico, 
Texas, Utah and Washington, the Child definition is modified as explained in the Notice pages of this certificate 
- please consult the Notice) 

Child means the following: 
 
Your natural child, adopted child (including a child from the date of placement with the adopting parents until 
the legal adoption), stepchild or blood relative who resides with You; who is under age 26 and supported by 
You. 
 
The term includes a newly eligible employee’s child who is incapable of self-sustaining employment because 
of a mental or physical handicap as defined by applicable law, and has been so handicapped continuously 
since a date before the child reached the limiting age and who otherwise qualifies as a Child except for the 
age limit. Proof of such handicap must be sent to Us within 31 days after the date the Child becomes eligible 
for insurance and at reasonable intervals after such date. 
 
The definition of Child includes a child, who resides with and is supported by You and is under Your 
testamentary or court appointed guardianship, other than temporary guardianship of less than 12 months 
duration. 
 
The definition of Child includes grandchildren, under the limiting age, who are: unmarried, reside with and are 
supported by You, and are in Your court ordered custody. 
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For the purposes of determining who may become covered for insurance, the term does not include any 
person who: 
 
 is on active duty in the military of any country or international authority; however, active duty for this 

purpose does not include weekend or summer training for the reserve forces of the United States, 
including the National Guard; or 

 is insured under the Group Policy as an employee.  
 
 
 
This rider is to be attached to and made a part of the Certificate. 
 
 
  

[ 

Michel Khalaf 
President 
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Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
200 Park Avenue, New York, New York  10166 

CERTIFICATE RIDER 
 
Group Policy No.: 
 

215917-1-G 

Policyholder: 
 

State of Maryland 

Effective Date: 
 

January 1, 2022 

The Certificate is changed as shown below: 
 
 
The Certificate is revised to add the following: 
 
How We Will Pay Benefits  
 
Unless the Beneficiary requests payment by check, when the Certificate states that We will pay benefits in 
"one sum", "lump sum" or a "single sum", We may pay the full benefit amount:  
 

1. by check;  
2. by establishing an account that earns interest and provides the Beneficiary with immediate access to 

the full benefit amount; or  
3. by any other method that provides the Beneficiary with immediate access to the full benefit amount.  

 
Other modes of payment may be available upon request.  For details, call Our toll free number shown on the 
Certificate Face Page. 
 
This rider is to be attached to and made a part of the Certificate 
 

[ 

Michel Khalaf 
President 
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Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
200 Park Avenue, New York, New York  10166 

 
 

CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 
 
 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company ("MetLife"), a stock company, certifies that You and Your Dependents 
are insured for the benefits described in this certificate, subject to the provisions of this certificate.  This 
certificate is issued to You under the Group Policy and it includes the terms and provisions of the Group 
Policy that describe Your insurance.  PLEASE READ THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY. 
 
This certificate is part of the Group Policy.  The Group Policy is a contract between MetLife and the 
Policyholder and may be changed or ended without Your consent or notice to You. 
 

Policyholder: State of Maryland 
 

  
Group Policy Number: 
 

215917-1-G 

Type of Insurance: Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
 

MetLife Toll Free Number(s):  
 

For Claim Information FOR LIFE CLAIMS: 1-866-574-2863 
 

 
THIS CERTIFICATE ONLY DESCRIBES ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND 
DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE. THE INSURANCE DESCRIBED DOES NOT PROVIDE 
BENEFITS FOR LOSS CAUSED BY SICKNESS. 
 
FOR CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS:  REVIEW THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY.  IF YOU 
ARE 65 OR OLDER ON YOUR EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS CERTIFICATE, YOU MAY 
RETURN IT TO US WITHIN 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE YOU RECEIVE IT AND WE WILL 
REFUND ANY PREMIUM YOU PAID.  IN THIS CASE, THIS CERTIFICATE WILL BE 
CONSIDERED TO NEVER HAVE BEEN ISSUED. 
 
THE BENEFITS OF THE POLICY PROVIDING YOUR COVERAGE ARE GOVERNED PRIMARILY BY THE 
LAW OF A STATE OTHER THAN FLORIDA. 
 
For Residents of North Dakota: If You are not satisfied with Your Certificate, You may return it to Us within 
20 days after You receive it, unless a claim has previously been received by Us under Your Certificate.  We will 
refund within 30 days of Our receipt of the returned Certificate any Premium that has been paid and the 
Certificate will then be considered to have never been issued.  You should be aware that, if You elect to return 
the Certificate for a refund of premiums, losses which otherwise would have been covered under Your 
Certificate will not be covered. 
 
For New Hampshire Residents: 30 Day Right to Examine Certificate. 
Please read this Certificate. You may return the Certificate to Us within 30 days from the date You receive it. 
If you return it within the 30 day period, the Certificate will be considered never to have been issued and We 
will refund any premium paid for insurance under this Certificate. 
 
WE ARE REQUIRED BY STATE LAW TO INCLUDE THE NOTICE(S) WHICH APPEAR ON THIS PAGE 
AND IN THE NOTICE(S) SECTION WHICH FOLLOWS THIS PAGE.  PLEASE READ THE(SE) NOTICE(S) 
CAREFULLY. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS 

GCERT-TX-NOTICE 2020 2  
 

 
Have a complaint or need help? 

If you have a problem with a claim or your premium, call your insurance company or HMO first. If 
you can't work out the issue, the Texas Department of Insurance may be able to help. 
 
Even if you file a complaint with the Texas Department of Insurance, you should also file a 
complaint or appeal through your insurance company or HMO. If you don't, you may lose 
your right to appeal. 
 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company  
 
To get information or file a complaint with your insurance company or HMO:  
 
Call: Corporate Consumer Relations Department at 1-800-438-6388  
 
Toll-free: 1-800-438-6388  
 
Email: Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com  
 
Mail: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company  

700 Quaker Lane  
2nd Floor  
Warwick, RI 02886  

 
 
The Texas Department of Insurance  
 
To get help with an insurance question or file a complaint with the state:  
 
Call with a question: 1-800-252-3439  
 
File a complaint: www.tdi.texas.gov  
 
Email: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov  
 
Mail: MC 111-1A, P.O. Box 149091, Austin, TX 78714-9091 
 
 
 

¿Tiene una queja o necesita ayuda? 
 

Si tiene un problema con una reclamación o con su prima de seguro, llame primero a su 
compañía de seguros o HMO. Si no puede resolver el problema, es posible que el 
Departamento de Seguros de Texas (Texas Department of Insurance, por su nombre en 
inglés) pueda ayudar.  
 
Aun si usted presenta una queja ante el Departamento de Seguros de Texas, también debe 
presentar una queja a través del proceso de quejas o de apelaciones de su compañía de 
seguros o HMO. Si no lo hace, podría perder su derecho para apelar. 
 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company  
 
Para obtener información o para presentar una queja ante su compañía de seguros o HMO:  
 
Llame a: Departamento de Relaciones Corporativas del Consumidor al 1-800-438-6388  
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Teléfono gratuito: 1-800-438-6388  
 
Correo electrónico: Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com  
 
Dirección postal: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company  

700 Quaker Lane  
2nd Floor  
Warwick, RI 02886  

 
 
El Departamento de Seguros de Texas  
 
Para obtener ayuda con una pregunta relacionada con los seguros o para presentar una 
queja ante el estado:  
 
Llame con sus preguntas al: 1-800-252-3439  
 
Presente una queja en: www.tdi.texas.gov  
 
Correo electrónico: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov  
 
Dirección postal: MC 111-1A, P.O. Box 149091, Austin, TX 78714-9091 

 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF  LOUISIANA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, TEXAS, 
UTAH AND WASHINGTON 
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The Definition Of Child Is Modified For The Coverages Listed Below: 
 
For Louisiana Residents (Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance): 
 
The term also includes Your grandchildren residing with You.  The age limit for children and grandchildren will 
not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s or grandchild’s marital status, student status or full-time 
employment status.  Your natural child, adopted child, stepchild or grandchild under age 26 will not need to be 
supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.  In addition, marital status will not prevent or 
cease the continuation of insurance for a mentally or physically handicapped child or grandchild past the age 
limit. 
 
For New Hampshire Residents (Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance): 
 
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s marital status, student status or full-
time employment status.  Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be 
supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance. 
 
For New Mexico Residents (Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance): 
 
The age limit for children will not be less than 25, regardless of the child’s student status or full-time 
employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild will not be denied accidental death and 
dismemberment insurance coverage under this certificate because: 
 

• that child was born out of wedlock; 
• that child is not claimed as Your dependent on Your federal income  tax return; or 
• that child does not reside with You. 

 
For Texas Residents (Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance): 
 
The term also includes Your grandchildren.  The age limit for children and grandchildren will not be less than 
25, regardless of the child’s or grandchild’s student status, full-time employment status or military service 
status.  Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 25 will not need to be supported by You to 
qualify as a Child under this insurance.  In addition, grandchildren must be able to be claimed by You as a 
dependent for Federal Income Tax purposes at the time You applied for Insurance. 
 
For Utah Residents (Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance): 
 
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s student status or full-time 
employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be supported 
by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.  The term includes an unmarried child who is incapable of 
self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical handicap as defined by applicable law and who 
has been continuously covered under an Accidental Death and Dismemberment plan since reaching age 26, 
with no break in coverage of more than 63 days, and who otherwise qualifies as a Child except for the age 
limit. Proof of such handicap must be sent to Us within 31 days after: 
 

 the date the Child attains the limiting age in order to continue coverage; or 
 You enroll a Child to be covered under this provision; 

 
and at reasonable intervals after such date, but no more often than annually after the two-year period 
immediately following the date the Child qualifies for coverage under this provision.   
 
For Washington Residents (Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance): 
 
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s marital status, student status, or 
full-time employment status.  Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be 
supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.   
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ARKANSAS 
 
 
If You have a question concerning Your coverage or a claim, first contact the Policyholder or group account 
administrator.  If, after doing so, You still have a concern, You may call the toll free telephone number shown 
on the Certificate Face Page. 

 

Policyholders have the right to file a complaint with the Arkansas Insurance Department (AID). You may call 
AID to request a complaint form at (800) 852-5494 or (501) 371-2640 or write the Department at: 

 

Arkansas Insurance Department 

Consumer Services Division 

1 Commerce Way, Suite 102 

Little Rock, Arkansas 72202 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA 
 
 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 
TO OBTAIN ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, OR TO MAKE A COMPLAINT, CONTACT THE 
POLICYHOLDER OR METLIFE AT: 
 

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
ATTN: CONSUMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT 

500 SCHOOLHOUSE ROAD 
JOHNSTOWN, PA 15904 

 
1-800-438-6388 

 
IF, AFTER CONTACTING THE POLICYHOLDER AND/OR METLIFE, YOU FEEL THAT A SATISFACTORY 
SOLUTION HAS NOT BEEN REACHED, YOU MAY FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE CALIFORNIA 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE DEPARTMENT AT: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

300 SOUTH SPRING STREET 
LOS ANGELES, CA 90013 

 
WEBSITE: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/ 

 
1-800-927-4357 (within California) 
1-213-897-8921 (outside California) 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA 
 
 
If Your certificate includes an exclusion for the voluntary intake or use by any means of any drug, medication 
or sedative, unless it is taken or used as prescribed by a Physician (or a similar exclusion), We will adjudicate 
your claim as follows: 
 

We will exclude any Covered Loss as a consequence of being under the influence of any intoxicant or 
controlled substance unless administered on the advice of a Physician. 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF GEORGIA 
 
 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 
The laws of the state of Georgia prohibit insurers from unfairly discriminating against any person based upon 
his or her status as a victim of family violence. 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF IDAHO 

 

If You have a question concerning Your coverage or a claim, You may call the toll free telephone number 
shown on the Certificate Face Page. 

 

If You are still concerned after contacting MetLife, You should feel free to contact: 

 

Idaho Department of Insurance 

Consumer Affairs 

700 West State Street, 3rd Floor 

PO Box 83720 

Boise, Idaho 83720-0043 

1-800-721-3272 (for calls placed within Idaho) or 208-334-4250 or www.DOI.Idaho.gov 
 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ILLINOIS 
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IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 

To make a complaint to MetLife, You may write to: 
 

MetLife  
200 Park Avenue 

New York, New York 10166 
 

The address of the Illinois Department of Insurance is: 
 

Illinois Department of Insurance 
Public Services Division 
Springfield, Illinois 62767 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF INDIANA 

 

Questions regarding your policy or coverage should be directed to:  

 

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 

1-800-438-6388 

 

If you (a) need the assistance of the government agency that regulates insurance; or (b) have a complaint you 
have been unable to resolve with your insurer you may contact the Department of Insurance by mail, 
telephone or email:  

 

State of Indiana Department of Insurance 

Consumer Services Division 

311 West Washington Street, Suite 300 

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 

 

Consumer Hotline: (800) 622-4461; (317) 232-2395 

 

Complaint can be filed electronically at www.in.gov/idoi 

 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MAINE 
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You have the right to designate a third party to receive notice if Your insurance is in danger of lapsing due to 
a default on Your part, such as for nonpayment of a contribution that is due.  The intent is to allow 
reinstatements where the default is due to the insured person’s suffering from cognitive impairment or 
functional incapacity.  You may make this designation by completing a “Third-Party Notice Request Form” and 
sending it to MetLife.  Once You have made a designation, You may cancel or change it by filling out a new 
Third-Party Notice Request Form and sending it to MetLife.  The designation will be effective as of the date 
MetLife receives the form.  Call MetLife at the toll-free telephone number shown on the face page of this 
certificate to obtain a Third-Party Notice Request Form.  Within 90 days after cancellation of coverage for 
nonpayment of premium, You or any person authorized to act on Your behalf may request reinstatement of 
the certificate on the basis that You suffered from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity at the time of 
cancellation. 
 



NOTICE FOR MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENTS 
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CONTINUATION OF ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D)  INSURANCE 
 
1. If Your AD&D Insurance ends due to a Plant Closing or Covered Partial Closing, such insurance will be 

continued for 90 days after the date it ends. 
 

2. If Your AD&D Insurance ends because: 
 

 You cease to be in an Eligible Class; or 
 Your employment terminates; 

 
for any reason other than a Plant Closing or Covered Partial Closing, such insurance will continue for 31 days 
after the date it ends. 
 
Continuation of Your AD&D Insurance under the CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM 
PAYMENT subsection will end before the end of continuation periods shown above if You become covered 
for similar benefits under another plan. 
 
Plant Closing and Covered Partial Closing have the meaning set forth in Massachusetts Annotated Laws, 
Chapter 151A, Section 71A. 
 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MISSISSIPPI 
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If You reside in Mississippi, note the following claims procedures for Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Benefits:  

FILING A CLAIM FOR ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFITS 
 

When there has been a Covered Loss, notify the Recordkeeper  For the purpose of this section, the 
Recordkeeper is the party designated by the Policyholder to maintain certain records needed to administer 
the insurance provided under this certificate. This notice should be given to the Recordkeeper as soon as is 
reasonably possible but in any case, within 30 days of the Covered Loss.  

The Recordkeeper will notify Us and a claim form will be sent to You or the beneficiary or beneficiaries of 
record. 

The claim form should be completed and sent along with Proof of the Covered Loss to Us as instructed on the 
claim form. If You or the beneficiary have not received a claim form within 15 days of giving notice of the 
claim, Proof may be sent using any form sufficient to provide Us with the required Proof. 

The claimant must give us Proof no later than 90 days after the date of the Covered Loss. 

If notice of claim or Proof is not given within the time limits described in this section, the delay will not cause a 
claim to be denied or reduced if such notice or Proof are given as soon as is reasonably possible.  

When We receive the claim form and Proof, We will review the claim and, if We approve it, We will pay 
benefits subject to the terms and provisions of this certificate and the Group Policy. If Your claim is a Clean 
Claim We will pay benefits within twenty five (25) days after receipt of such Proof of a Covered Loss in an 
electronic form, or within 35 days after receipt of Proof of a Covered Loss in a paper format. Any benefit due 
and not paid within the respective 25 day or 35 day time period for Clean Claims of our receipt of Proof will 
accrue interest at the rate of three percent (3%) per month on the amount due, until the claim is finally settled 
or adjudicated.  

“Clean Claim” means a claim that: 

 does not require further information, adjustment or alteration by You or Physician in order for MetLife to 
process and pay it;  

 does not have any defects; 
 does not have any impropriety, including any lack of supporting documentation; or 
 does not involve a particular circumstance requiring special treatment that substantially prevents timely 

payments from being made on the claim. 
 
Errors, such as system errors, attributable to Us, do not change the Clean Claim status. 

A Clean Claim does not include a claim submitted more than 30 days after the Covered Loss; claims which 
are submitted fraudulently or that are based upon material misrepresentations. 

In the event the We fail to pay benefits when due, the person entitled to such benefits may bring action to 
recover such benefits, any interest which may accrue as provided by law and any other damages as may be 
allowable by law. If it is determined in such action that We acted in bad faith as evidenced by a repeated or 
deliberate pattern of failing to pay benefits and/or claims when due, the person entitled to such benefits 
(health care provider or insured) shall be entitled to recover damages in an amount up to three (3) times the 
amount of the benefits that remain unpaid until the claim is finally settled or adjudicated. 
 
Time Limit on Legal Actions.  A legal action on a claim may only be brought against Us during a certain 
period.  This period begins 60 days after the date Proof is filed and ends 3 years after the date such Proof is 
required. 

 
Routine Questions on Accidental Death and Dismemberment Claims 

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 
1-800-438-6388. 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MISSOURI 
 
ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE 
 
EXCLUSIONS 
 
If You reside in Missouri the exclusion for "suicide or attempted suicide" is as follows: 

"suicide or attempted suicide while sane" 
 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF NEW MEXICO 
 

GCERT2000  
notice/nm-ccn 16 
 

 

 
Consumer Complaint Notice 

 
If You are a resident of New Mexico, Your coverage will be administered in accordance 
with the minimum applicable standards of New Mexico law. If You have concerns 
regarding a claim, premium, or other matters relating to this coverage, You may file a 
complaint with the New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance (OSI) using the 
complaint form available on the OSI website and found at: 
https://www.osi.state.nm.us/ConsumerAssistance/index.aspx. 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF NEW MEXICO 
 
If a Child is insured for Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance under this certificate and You are 
not the custodial parent, notify Us that such is the case and provide Us with the name and address of the 
custodial parent. After receipt of such notice We will: 
 
(1) provide such information to the custodial parent as may be necessary for the Child to obtain benefits 

through that insurance; 
 

(2) permit the custodial parent or the provider, with the custodial parent's approval, to submit claims for 
covered services without the approval of the non-custodial parent; and 

 
(3) make payments on claims submitted in accordance with Paragraph (2) of this subsection directly to the 

custodial parent, the provider or the state Medicaid agency. 
 
If You are required by a court or administrative order to provide Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Insurance for a Child, and You are eligible to provide such insurance for that child, We will: 
 
(1) permit You to enroll a Child who is otherwise eligible for such insurance without regard to any enrollment 

season restrictions; 
 
(2) if You are enrolled but fail to make application to obtain insurance for such Child, We will enroll the Child 

for insurance upon application of the Child's other parent, the state agency administering the Medicaid 
program or the state agency administering 42 U.S.C. Sections 651 through 669, the child support 
enforcement program; and 

 
(3) We will not disenroll or eliminate insurance for such Child unless the insurer is provided satisfactory 

written evidence that: 
 
(a) the court or administrative order is no longer in effect; or 
 
(b) the Child is or will be enrolled in comparable health insurance through another insurer that will take 

effect not later than the effective date of disenrollment. 
 
We will not impose requirements on a state agency that has been assigned the rights of an individual eligible 
for medical assistance under the Medicaid program and insured for Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Insurance with Us that are different from requirements applicable to an agent or assignee of any other 
individual so insured. 

Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance for a Dependent Child may be continued past the age limit if 
that Child is a full-time student and insurance ends due to the Child being ordered to active duty (other than 
active duty for training) for 30 or more consecutive days as a member of the Pennsylvania National Guard or a 
Reserve Component of the Armed Forces of the United States.    
 
Insurance will continue if such Child: 
 
 re-enrolls as a full-time student at an accredited school, college or university that is licensed in the 

jurisdiction where it is located; 
 re-enrolls for the first term or semester, beginning 60 or more days from the child’s release from active duty;  
 continues to qualify as a Child, except for the age limit; and 
 submits the required Proof of the child’s active duty in the National Guard or a Reserve Component of the 

United States Armed Forces. 
 
Subject to the Date Insurance For Your Dependents Ends subsection of the section entitled ELIGIBILITY 
PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS, this continuation will continue until the earliest of the 
date: 
 
 the insurance has been continued for a period of time equal to the duration of the child’s service on active 

duty; or 
 the child is no longer a full-time student. 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS 
 
THE INSURANCE POLICY UNDER WHICH THIS CERTIFICATE IS ISSUED IS NOT A POLICY OF 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE.  YOU SHOULD CONSULT YOUR EMPLOYER TO 
DETERMINE WHETHER YOUR EMPLOYER IS A SUBSCRIBER TO THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 
SYSTEM. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF UTAH 
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Notice of Protection Provided by 
Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 

 
This notice provides a brief summary of the Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association ("the 
Association") and the protection it provides for policyholders. This safety net was created under Utah law, 
which determines who and what is covered and the amounts of coverage. 
 
The Association was established to provide protection in the unlikely event that your life, health, or annuity 
insurance company becomes financially unable to meet its obligations and is taken over by its insurance 
regulatory agency. If this should happen, the Association will typically arrange to continue coverage and pay 
claims, in accordance with Utah law, with funding from assessments paid by other insurance companies. 
 
The basic protections provided by the Association are: 

 Life Insurance 
o $500,000 in death benefits 
o $200,000 in cash surrender or withdrawal values 

 Health Insurance 
o $500,000 in hospital, medical and surgical insurance benefits 
o $500,000 in long-term care insurance benefits 
o $500,000 in disability income insurance benefits 
o $500,000 in other types of health insurance benefits 

 Annuities 
o $250,000 in withdrawal and cash values 
 

The maximum amount of protection for each individual, regardless of the number of policies or contracts, is 
$500,000. Special rules may apply with regard to hospital, medical and surgical insurance benefits. 
 
Note: Certain policies and contracts may not be covered or fully covered. For example, coverage does 
not extend to any portion of a policy or contract that the insurer does not guarantee, such as certain 
investment additions to the account value of a variable life insurance policy or a variable annuity contract.  
Coverage is conditioned on residency in this state and there are substantial limitations and exclusions. For a 
complete description of coverage, consult Utah Code, Title 3 lA, Chapter 28. 
 
Insurance companies and agents are prohibited by Utah law to use the existence of the Association 
or its coverage to encourage you to purchase insurance. When selecting an insurance company, you 
should not rely on Association coverage. If there is any inconsistency between Utah law and this 
notice, Utah law will control. 
 
To learn more about the above protections, as well as protections relating to group contracts or retirement 
plans, please visit the Association's website at www.utlifega.org or contact: 
 
Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Assoc.  Utah Insurance Department 
60 East South Temple, Suite 500 3110 State Office Building 
Salt Lake City UT 84111 Salt Lake City UT 84114-6901 
(801) 320-9955 (801) 538-3800 
 
A written complaint about misuse of this Notice or the improper use of the existence of the Association may 
be filed with the Utah Insurance Department at the above address. 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF THE STATE OF VERMONT 

 
Vermont law provides that the following apply to Your certificate: 
 
Domestic Partner means each of two people, one of whom is an Employee of the Policyholder, who have 
registered as each other’s domestic partner, civil union partner or reciprocal beneficiary with a government 
agency where such registration is available. 
 
Wherever the term "Spouse" appears in this certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to include 
Your Domestic Partner. 
 
Wherever the term "step-child" appears in this certificate it shall be read to include the children of Your 
Domestic Partner. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA 
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IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING YOUR INSURANCE 
 
In the event You need to contact someone about this insurance for any reason please contact Your agent.  If no 
agent was involved in the sale of this insurance, or if You have additional questions You may contact the 
insurance company issuing this insurance at the following address and telephone number: 
 

MetLife 
200 Park Avenue 

New York, New York 10166 
Attn: Corporate Consumer Relations Department 

 
To phone in a claim related question, You may call Claims Customer Service at: 

1-800-275-4638 
 

If You have been unable to contact or obtain satisfaction from the company or the agent, You may contact the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission’s Bureau of Insurance at: 
 

Bureau of Insurance 
Life and Health Division 

P.O. Box 1157 
Richmond, VA 23218-1157 

1-804-371-9691 - phone 
1-877-310-6560 - toll-free 

1-804-371-9944 - fax 
www.scc.virginia.gov - web address 

BureauOfInsurance@scc.virginia.gov - email 
 
Written correspondence is preferable so that a record of Your inquiry is maintained.  When contacting Your 
agent, company or the Bureau of Insurance, have Your policy number available. 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON 
 
 
Washington law provides that the following apply to Your certificate: 

 
Wherever the term "Spouse" appears in this certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to include 
Your Domestic Partner. 
 
Domestic Partner means each of two people, one of whom is an Employee of the Policyholder, who have 
registered as each other’s domestic partner, civil union partner or reciprocal beneficiary with a government 
agency where such registration is available. 
 
Wherever the term "step-child" appears in this certificate it shall be read to include the children of Your Domestic 
Partner.  
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF WEST VIRGINIA 
 
FREE LOOK PERIOD: 
 
If You are not satisfied with Your certificate, You may return it to Us within 10 days after You receive it, unless 
a claim has previously been received by Us under Your certificate. We will refund within 10 days of our receipt 
of the returned certificate any Premium that has been paid and the certificate will then be considered to have 
never been issued. You should be aware that, if You elect to return the certificate for a refund of premiums, 
losses which otherwise would have been covered under Your certificate will not be covered. 
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF WISCONSIN 
 
 

KEEP THIS NOTICE WITH YOUR INSURANCE PAPERS 
 
 
PROBLEMS WITH YOUR INSURANCE? - If You are having problems with Your insurance company or 
agent, do not hesitate to contact the insurance company or agent to resolve Your problem. 
 
 

MetLife 
Attn: Corporate Consumer Relations Department 

200 Park Avenue 
New York, New York 10166 

1-800-438-6388 
 
 
You can also contact the OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE, a state agency which 
enforces Wisconsin’s insurance laws, and file a complaint.  You can contact the OFFICE OF THE 
COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE by contacting: 
 
 
 

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance 
Complaints Department 

P.O. Box 7873 
Madison, WI 53707-7873 

1-800-236-8517 outside of Madison or 608-266-0103 in Madison. 
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This schedule shows the benefits that are available under the Group Policy. You and Your Dependents 
will only be insured for the benefits: 

 
 for which You and Your Dependents become and remain eligible; 
 which You elect, if subject to election; and  
 which are in effect. 

 
The amount of Insurance that We will pay for any insurance to which You make contributions will be 
decreased by the amount of Your contributions due and unpaid to Us for that insurance. 
 

Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance (AD&D) For You 
 

Full Amount for Voluntary AD&D 
 

For Class 1 and Class 2 Employees: 
 
Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance is Portability Eligible Insurance 
 
For Eligible employees who elect: 
 

Option 1 .......................................................................  $100,000 
 

Option 2 .......................................................................  $200,000 
 

Option 3 .......................................................................  $300,000 
 

Minimum Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Full Amount ......................................  

 
$100,000 
 

Maximum Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Full Amount ......................................  

 
$300,000 

 
Additional Benefits: 
 

Seat Belt Benefit .......................................................  Yes 
  

 

Air Bag Use Benefit ...................................................  Yes 
  

 

Child Care Benefit .....................................................  Yes 
  

 

Child Education Benefit .............................................  Yes 
  

 

Spouse Education Benefit.........................................  Yes 
  

   

Hospital Confinement Benefit ...................................  Yes 
  

 

Common Carrier Benefit ...........................................  Yes 
  

 

The Common Carrier Benefit is an amount equal to the Full Amount. 
 
Schedule of Covered Losses for Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
 
All amounts listed are stated as percentages of the Full Amount. 
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Covered Losses 
 

Loss of life .................................................................................  100% 
Loss of a hand permanently severed at or above  
the wrist but below the elbow ....................................................  

 
50% 

Loss of a foot permanently severed at or above  
the ankle but below the knee ....................................................  

 
50% 

Loss of an arm permanently severed at or above the elbow ....  75% 
Loss of a leg permanently severed at or above the knee .........  75% 
Loss of sight in one eye ............................................................  50% 

 
Loss of sight means permanent and uncorrectable loss of sight in the eye.  Visual acuity 
must be 20/200 or worse in the eye or the field of vision must be less than 20 degrees. 

 
Loss of any combination of hand, foot, or sight of one eye, as 
defined above ...........................................................................  

 
100% 

Loss of the thumb and index finger of same hand ....................  25% 
 

Loss of thumb and index finger of same hand means that the thumb and index finger are 
permanently severed through or above the third joint from the tip of the index finger and the 
second joint from the tip of the thumb. 

 
Loss of speech and loss of hearing ..........................................  100% 
Loss of speech or loss of hearing .............................................  50% 

 
Loss of speech means the entire and irrecoverable loss of speech that continues for 6 
consecutive months following the accidental injury.  

 
Loss of hearing means the entire and irrecoverable loss of hearing in both ears that 
continues for 6 consecutive months following the accidental injury. 

 
Paralysis of both arms and both legs ........................................  100% 
Paralysis of both legs ................................................................  50% 
Paralysis of the arm and leg on either side of the body ............  75% 

 
Paralysis means loss of use of a limb, without severance. A Physician must determine the 
paralysis to be permanent, complete and irreversible. 

 
Brain Damage ...........................................................................  100% 

 
Brain Damage means permanent and irreversible physical damage to the brain causing the 
complete inability to perform all the substantial and material functions and activities normal to 
everyday life.  Such damage must manifest itself within 30 days of the accidental injury, 
require a hospitalization of at least 5 days and persists for 12 consecutive months after the 
date of the accidental injury. 

 
Coma .........................................................................................  1% monthly 

beginning on the 
7th day of the 
Coma for the 
duration of the 
Coma to a 
maximum of 60 
months 

 
Coma means a state of deep and total unconsciousness from which the comatose person 
cannot be aroused. Such state must begin within 30 days of the accidental injury and 
continue for 7 consecutive days. 
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Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance (AD&D) For Your Dependents 
 

Full Amount for Voluntary AD&D 
 
Class 1 and Class 2 Employees: 

 
Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance is  Portability Eligible Insurance 
 

Spouse and Child(ren) ...............................................  An amount equal to: (a) 55% for 
Your Spouse Only; and (b) 15% for 
each Child; of Your Voluntary 
Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance 
 

Spouse Only ..............................................................  An amount equal to 65% of Your 
Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance 
 

For each of Your Children 
 

Child(ren) Only ...........................................................  
 

An amount equal to 25% of Your 
Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance for 
each Child 
 

 

Minimum Spouse Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Full Amount………………………… 
 

 
$55,000 
 

 

Minimum Child Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Full Amount………………………… 
 

 
$15,000 
 

 

Maximum Spouse Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Full Amount………………………… 
 

 
$195,000 
 

Maximum Child Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Full Amount………………………… 
 

 
An amount equal to 25% of Your 
Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance not to 
exceed $25,000 

 

 
Additional Benefits: 
 

Seat Belt Benefit .......................................................  Yes 
  

 

Air Bag Use Benefit ...................................................  Yes 
  

 

Child Care Benefit .....................................................  Yes 
  

 

Child Education Benefit .............................................  Yes 
  

 

Spouse Education Benefit.........................................  None 
  

 

Hospital Confinement Benefit ...................................  Yes 
  

 

Common Carrier Benefit ...........................................  Yes 
  

 

The Common Carrier Benefit is an amount equal to the Full Amount. 
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Schedule of Covered Losses for Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Insurance 

 
All amounts listed are stated as percentages of the Full Amount. 

 
Covered Losses 

 
Loss of life .................................................................................  100% 
Loss of a hand permanently severed at or above  
the wrist but below the elbow ....................................................  

 
50% 

Loss of a foot permanently severed at or above  
the ankle but below the knee ....................................................  

 
50% 

Loss of an arm permanently severed at or above the elbow ....  75% 
Loss of a leg permanently severed at or above the knee .........  75% 
Loss of sight in one eye ............................................................  50% 

 
Loss of sight means permanent and uncorrectable loss of sight in the eye.  Visual acuity 
must be 20/200 or worse in the eye or the field of vision must be less than 20 degrees. 

 
Loss of any combination of hand, foot, or sight of one eye, as 
defined above ...........................................................................  

 
100% 

Loss of the thumb and index finger of same hand ....................  25% 
 

Loss of thumb and index finger of same hand means that the thumb and index finger are 
permanently severed through or above the third joint from the tip of the index finger and the 
second joint from the tip of the thumb. 

 
Loss of speech and loss of hearing ..........................................  100% 
Loss of speech or loss of hearing .............................................  50% 

 
Loss of speech means the entire and irrecoverable loss of speech that continues for 6 
consecutive months following the accidental injury.  

 
Loss of hearing means the entire and irrecoverable loss of hearing in both ears that 
continues for 6 consecutive months following the accidental injury. 

 
Paralysis of both arms and both legs ........................................  100% 
Paralysis of both legs ................................................................  50% 
Paralysis of the arm and leg on either side of the body ............  75% 

 
Paralysis means loss of use of a limb, without severance. A Physician must determine the 
paralysis to be permanent, complete and irreversible. 

 
Brain Damage ...........................................................................  100% 

 
Brain Damage means permanent and irreversible physical damage to the brain causing the 
complete inability to perform all the substantial and material functions and activities normal to 
everyday life.  Such damage must manifest itself within 30 days of the accidental injury, 
require a hospitalization of at least 5 days and persists for 12 consecutive months after the 
date of the accidental injury. 
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Coma .........................................................................................  1% monthly 
beginning on the 
7th day of the 
Coma for the 
duration of the 
Coma to a 
maximum of 60 
months. 

 
Coma means a state of deep and total unconsciousness from which the comatose person 
cannot be aroused. Such state must begin within 30 days of the accidental injury and 
continue for 7 consecutive days. 
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Portability Eligible AD&D Insurance 

AD&D Insurance For You: 

 
Portability Eligible AD&D Insurance For You: 
 
Minimum Portability Eligible AD&D Insurance Amount ...............  $10,000 
 
Maximum Portability Eligible AD&D Insurance Amount ..............  

 
The lesser of Your total AD&D 
Insurance in effect on the 
date You elect to Port or 
$2,000,000 

 

 
If Your Portability Eligible Insurance ends due to the end of the Group Policy or the amendment of the Group 
Policy to end the Portability Eligible Insurance for an eligible class of which You are a member, the maximum 
amount of insurance that You may Port is the lesser of: 
 
● the amount of Your Portability Eligible Insurance that ends under the Group Policy less the amount of 

AD&D insurance for which You become eligible under any group policy issued to replace this Group 
Policy; or 

 
● $10,000. 
 
AD&D Insurance For Your Spouse: 
 
 
Portability Eligible Dependent Spouse AD&D Insurance: 
 
Minimum Portability Eligible  
Dependent Spouse AD&D Insurance Amount……………………. 

 
 
$2,500 ($10,000 when porting 
Dependent Spouse AD&D 
Insurance alone) 

 
Maximum Portability Eligible  
Dependent Spouse AD&D Insurance Amount……………………. 

 
 
The lesser of Your total 
Dependent Spouse AD&D 
Insurance in effect on the 
date You elect to Port or 
$250,000 

 

 
If Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance ends due to the end of 
the Group Policy or the amendment of the Group Policy to end the Portability Eligible Insurance or Your 
Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance for an eligible class of which You are a member, the maximum 
amount of insurance that You may Port is the lesser of: 
 
● the amount of Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance that 

ends under the Group Policy less the amount of AD&D insurance for which You become eligible under 
any group policy issued to replace this Group Policy; or 

 
● $10,000. 
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AD&D Insurance For Your Children:  
 
Portability Eligible Dependent Child AD&D Insurance: 
 
Minimum Portability Eligible  
Dependent Child AD&D Insurance Amount..……………………… 

 
 
$1,000 

 
Maximum Portability Eligible  
Dependent Child AD&D Insurance Amount……………………….. 

 
 
The lesser of Your total 
Dependent Child Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment 
Insurance in effect on the 
date You elect to Port or 
$25,000 

 

 
If Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance ends due to the end of 
the Group Policy or the amendment of the Group Policy to end the Portability Eligible Insurance or Your 
Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance for an eligible class of which You are a member, the maximum 
amount of insurance that You may Port is the lesser of: 
 
● the amount of Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Your Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance that 

ends under the Group Policy less the amount of AD&D insurance for which You become eligible under 
any group policy issued to replace this Group Policy; or 

 
● $10,000. 
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As used in this certificate, the terms listed below will have the meanings set forth below.  When defined terms 
are used in this certificate, they will appear with initial capitalization.  The plural use of a term defined in the 
singular will share the same meaning.  
 
Actively at Work or Active Work means that You are performing all of the usual and customary duties of 
Your job.  This must be done at: 
 
● the Policyholder’s place of business; 
● an alternate place approved by the Policyholder; or 
● a place to which the Policyholder’s business requires You to travel. 
 
You will be deemed to be Actively at Work during weekends or Policyholder approved vacations, absences, 
holidays or business closures if You were Actively at Work on the last scheduled work day preceding such 
time off. 
 
Beneficiary means the person(s) to whom We will pay insurance as determined in accordance with the 
GENERAL PROVISIONS section. 

Child - For the Child Definition, please refer to the Child Definition Rider in the front of this certificate.  For 
residents of Louisiana, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Texas, Utah and Washington, the Child 
Definition is modified as explained in the Notice pages of this certificate; please consult the Notice. 
 
Common Carrier means a government regulated entity that is in the business of transporting fare paying 
passengers. 
 
The term does not include: 
 
 chartered or other privately arranged transportation; 

 taxis; or 

 limousines. 
 
Contributory Insurance means insurance for which the Policyholder requires You to pay any part of the 
premium. 
 
Contributory Insurance includes: Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance. 
 
Dependent(s) means Your Spouse and/or Child. 
 
Hospital means a facility which is licensed as such in the jurisdiction in which it is located and: 
 
● provides a broad range of medical and surgical services on a 24 hour a day basis for injured and sick 

persons by or under the supervision of a staff of Physicians; and 

● provides a broad range of nursing care on a 24 hour a day basis by or under the direction of a registered 
professional nurse. 
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Physician means: 
 
● a person licensed to practice medicine in the jurisdiction where such services are performed; or 

● any other person whose services, according to applicable law, must be treated as Physician's services for 
purposes of the Group Policy.  Each such person must be licensed in the jurisdiction where he performs 
the service and must act within the scope of that license.  He must also be certified and/or registered if 
required by such jurisdiction. 

 
The term does not include: 
 
 You; 

 Your Spouse; or 

 any member of Your immediate family including Your and/or Your Spouse’s: 

 parents; 

 children (natural, step or adopted); 

 siblings; 

 grandparents; or 

 grandchildren. 
 

Proof means Written evidence satisfactory to Us that a person has satisfied the conditions and requirements 
for any benefit described in this certificate. When a claim is made for any benefit described in this certificate, 
Proof must establish: 
 
 the nature and extent of the loss or condition; 

 Our obligation to pay the claim; and 

 the claimant’s right to receive payment. 
 
Proof must be provided at the claimant’s expense. 
 
Signed means any symbol or method executed or adopted by a person with the present intention to 
authenticate a record, which is on or transmitted by paper or electronic media which is acceptable to Us and 
consistent with applicable law. 
 
Spouse means Your lawful spouse. 
 
For the purposes of determining who may become covered for insurance, the term does not include any 
person who: 
 
 is on active duty in the military of any country or international authority; however, active duty for this 

purpose does not include weekend or summer training for the reserve forces of the United States, 
including the National Guard; or 

 is insured under the Group Policy as an employee. 
 
We, Us and Our mean MetLife. 
 
Written or Writing means a record which is on or transmitted by paper or electronic media which is 
acceptable to Us and consistent with applicable law. 
 
You and Your mean an employee who is insured under the Group Policy for the insurance described in this 
certificate. 
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ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES)  
 
For Class 1: All Actively at Work full-time and part-time employees of the Policyholder as described 
below: 
 
 Employees whose coverage is required by law, full-time employees, and part-time employees as defined 

by State Personnel and Pensions Article, §7-701, Annotated Code of Maryland, who are regularly paid 
salary or wages through an official State payroll center, including but not limited to:  
 Central Payroll Bureau;  

 Maryland Transit Administration;   

 The institutions of the University System of Maryland, including graduate assistants, and the Far East 
and European Divisions of the University of Maryland; or 

 Elected officials; or  

 Registers of Wills and employees of the offices of Registers of Wills; or 

 Clerk of Court and employees of the offices of Clerk of Court; or 

 Board or Commission members who are regularly paid salary or wages and who work at least 50 percent 
of a normal work week; or 

 Designated beneficiaries of deceased persons listed in §A(1)-(5), (7), and (8) of section 17.04.13.03 in 
accordance with State Personnel and Pensions Article, §§2-507, 2-508 and 2-509, Annotated Code of 
Maryland, with the following limitations: 

 In the case of more than one dependent child receiving the allowances or distributions noted above, 
each dependent child who receives the allowance or distribution is eligible to enroll independently; 
and  

 Notwithstanding any other provision in section 17.04.13.03, a surviving spouse or surviving child must 
meet the requirements to be a dependent eligible for coverage as provided in §A(9) of section 
17.04.13.03; or  

 Employees working less than 50 percent of a normal workweek and their designated beneficiaries, in 
accordance with Regulation .04B(3) of this chapter 17.04.13.03; or 

 Contractual employees regularly working at least 30 hours per week, or an average of 130 hours per 
month, in accordance with 26 USC § 4980(H) and Regulation .04B(2) of this chapter 17.04.13.03. 

 
For Class 2: All Actively at Work full-time employees of the Policyholder as described below: 
 
 Employees who fly in a helicopter or fixed-wing aircraft in the course of their employment with the State of 

Maryland; or 

 Employees who scuba dive in the course of their employment with the State of Maryland. 

 
DATE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR INSURANCE 
 
You may only become eligible for the insurance available for Your eligible class as shown in the SCHEDULE 
OF BENEFITS. 
 
If You are in an eligible class on January 1, 2022, You will be eligible for the insurance described in this 
certificate on that date. 
 
If You enter an eligible class after January 1, 2022, You will be eligible for the insurance described in this 
certificate on the date You enter that class. 
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ENROLLMENT PROCESS  
 
If You are eligible for insurance, You may enroll for such insurance by completing the required form.  If You 
enroll for Contributory Insurance, You must also give the Policyholder Written permission to deduct premiums 
from Your pay for such insurance.  You will be notified by the Policyholder how much You will be required to 
contribute. 
 
The insurance listed below is part of a flexible benefits plan established by the Policyholder.  Subject to the 
rules of the flexible benefits plan and the Group Policy, You may enroll for: 
 
 Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance; 
 
only when You are first eligible or during an annual enrollment period or if You have a Qualifying Event. You 
should contact the Policyholder for more information regarding the flexible benefits plan. 
 
DATE YOUR INSURANCE THAT IS PART OF THE FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN TAKES EFFECT  
 
Enrollment When First Eligible 
 
If You complete the enrollment process within 60 days of becoming eligible for insurance, such insurance will 
take effect on the date You become eligible for such insurance if You are Actively at Work on that date.  You 
are not required to give evidence of Your insurability for Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Insurance. 
 
If You do not complete the enrollment process within 60 days of becoming eligible, You will not be able to 
enroll for insurance until the next annual enrollment period, as determined by the Policyholder, following the 
date You first became eligible.  At that time You will be able to enroll for insurance for which You are then 
eligible. 
 
If You are not Actively at Work on the date insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on 
the day You resume Active Work. 
 
Enrollment During An Annual Enrollment Period 
 
During any annual enrollment period as determined by the Policyholder, You may enroll for insurance for 
which You are eligible or choose a different option than the one for which You are currently enrolled.  The 
insurance enrolled for or changes to Your insurance made during an annual enrollment period will take effect 
on the first day of the calendar year following the annual enrollment period, if You are Actively at Work on that 
date.  You are not required to give evidence of Your insurability for Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance.  
 
If You are not Actively at Work on the date an amount of insurance would otherwise take effect, that amount 
of insurance will take effect on the day You resume Active Work.  
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Enrollment Due to a Qualifying Event 
 
Under the rules of the flexible benefit plan, You may enroll for insurance for which You are eligible or change 
the amount of Your insurance between annual enrollment periods only if You have a Qualifying Event. 
 
Qualifying Event includes: 

 
 marriage; 

 the birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child; 

 divorce, legal separation or annulment; 

 the death of a dependent; 

 a change in Your or Your dependent's residence, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose 
eligibility for group coverage; 

 a change in Your or Your dependent's employment status, such as beginning or ending employment, 
strike, lockout, taking or ending a leave of absence, changes in worksite or work schedule, if it causes 
You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage; or 

 a significant curtailment in Your current option, a significant improvement in an option for which You are 
not enrolled, a significant increase or decrease in cost for one or more of the options under the 
Policyholder's plan or a new benefit option under the Policyholder's plan. 

 
If You have a Qualifying Event, You will have 60 days from the date of that change to make a request.  This 
request must be consistent with the nature of the Qualifying Event.  The insurance enrolled for, or changes to 
Your insurance made as a result of a Qualifying Event will take effect on the first day of the month following 
the date of Your request, if You are Actively at Work on that date.  You are not required to give evidence of 
Your insurability for Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance. 
 
If You are not Actively at Work on the date insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on 
the day You resume Active Work. 
 
DATE YOUR INSURANCE ENDS 
  
Your insurance will end on the earliest of: 
 
1. the date the Group Policy ends; or 

2. the date insurance ends for Your class; or 

3. the date You cease to be in an eligible class; or 

4. the end of the period for which the last contribution toward premium was paid by You; or 

5. the last day of the calendar month in which Your employment ends; Your employment will end if You 
cease to be Actively at Work in any eligible class, except as stated in the section entitled 
CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT; or 

6. the date You retire in accordance with the Policyholder's retirement plan. 
 
The ending of Your insurance will not prejudice a loss which occurred or a Disability which began while Your 
insurance was in effect. 
 
In certain cases insurance may be continued as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF 
INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT. 
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ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES) FOR DEPENDENT INSURANCE  
 
For Class 1: All Actively at Work full-time and part-time employees of the Policyholder as described 
below: 
 
 Employees whose coverage is required by law, full-time employees, and part-time employees as defined 

by State Personnel and Pensions Article, §7-701, Annotated Code of Maryland, who are regularly paid 
salary or wages through an official State payroll center, including but not limited to:  
 Central Payroll Bureau;  

 Maryland Transit Administration;   

 The institutions of the University System of Maryland, including graduate assistants, and the Far East 
and European Divisions of the University of Maryland; or 

 Elected officials; or  

 Registers of Wills and employees of the offices of Registers of Wills; or 

 Clerk of Court and employees of the offices of Clerk of Court; or 

 Board or Commission members who are regularly paid salary or wages and who work at least 50 percent 
of a normal work week; or 

 Dependents of eligible persons listed in §A(1)-(5), (7), (8), (10), and (11) of section 17.04.13.03 who are 
one of the following:  

 A spouse of an employee or retired employee; or  

 A dependent child of an employee or retired employee, as identified in this chapter 17.04.13.03; or 

 Employees working less than 50 percent of a normal workweek and their designated beneficiaries, in 
accordance with Regulation .04B(3) of this chapter 17.04.13.03; or  

 Contractual employees regularly working at least 30 hours per week, or an average of 130 hours per 
month, in accordance with 26 USC § 4980(H) and Regulation .04B(2) of this chapter 17.04.13.03. 

 
For Class 2: All Actively at Work full-time employees of the Policyholder as described below: 
 
 Employees who fly in a helicopter or fixed-wing aircraft in the course of their employment with the State of 

Maryland; or 

 Employees who scuba dive in the course of their employment with the State of Maryland. 

 
DATE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR DEPENDENT INSURANCE 
 
You may only become eligible for the Dependent insurance available for Your eligible class as shown in the 
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 
 
If You are in an eligible class on January 1, 2022, You will be eligible for Dependent insurance on the later of: 
 
1. January 1, 2022; and 

2. the date You obtain a Dependent. 

 
If You enter an eligible class after January 1, 2022, You will be eligible for Dependent insurance on the later 
of: 
 
1. the date You enter a class eligible for insurance; and 

2. the date You obtain a Dependent. 
 
No person may be insured as a Dependent of more than one employee. 
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ENROLLMENT PROCESS 
 
If You become eligible for Dependent insurance, You may enroll for such insurance by providing Us with the 
information We require for each Dependent to be insured.  If You enroll for Contributory Insurance, You must 
also give the Policyholder written permission to deduct premiums from Your pay for such insurance.  You will 
be notified by the Policyholder how much You will be required to contribute. 
 
Once You have enrolled one Child for a Dependent insurance benefit, each succeeding Child will 
automatically be covered for such insurance on the date that Child qualifies as a Dependent. 
 
The insurance listed below is part of a flexible benefits plan established by the Policyholder.  Subject to the 
rules of the flexible benefits plan and the Group Policy, You may enroll for: 
 
 Dependent Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance; 
 
only when You are first eligible or during an annual enrollment period or if You have a Qualifying Event. You 
should contact the Policyholder for more information regarding the flexible benefits plan. 
 
DATE INSURANCE THAT IS PART OF THE FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN TAKES EFFECT FOR YOUR 
DEPENDENTS 
 
Enrollment When First Eligible 
 
If You complete the enrollment process for Dependent insurance within 60 days of becoming eligible for 
insurance, such insurance will take effect for each enrolled Dependent on the date You become eligible for 
such insurance if You are Actively at Work on that date.  The Dependent is not required to give evidence of 
insurability for Dependent Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance. 
 
Once You have enrolled one Child for a Dependent insurance benefit, each succeeding Child will 
automatically be covered for such insurance on the date that Child qualifies as a Dependent. 
 
If You do not complete the enrollment process for any Dependent within 60 days of becoming eligible, You 
will not be able to enroll for Dependent insurance until the next annual enrollment period, as determined by 
the Policyholder, in accordance with the rules of the flexible benefits plan. At that time You will be able to 
enroll for Dependent insurance: 
 
 for which You are then eligible; and 

 for Your Dependents who are then eligible. 
 
If You are not Actively at Work on the date Dependent insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will 
take effect on the day You resume Active Work. 
 
Enrollment During An Annual Enrollment Period 
 
During any annual enrollment period, You may enroll for Dependent insurance for which You are eligible or 
change the amount of Your Dependent insurance.  The insurance enrolled for or changes to Your insurance 
made during the annual enrollment period will take effect for each enrolled Dependent on the first day of the 
calendar year following the annual enrollment period, if You are Actively at Work on that date.  The 
Dependent is not required to give evidence of insurability for Dependent Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance. 
 
Once You have enrolled one Child for a Dependent insurance benefit, each succeeding Child will 
automatically be covered for such insurance on the date that Child qualifies as a Dependent. 
 
If You are not Actively at Work on the date Dependent insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will 
take effect on the day You resume Active Work. 
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Enrollment Due to a Qualifying Event 
 
Under the rules of the flexible benefit plan, You may enroll for Dependent insurance for which You are eligible 
or change the amount of Your Dependent insurance between annual enrollment periods only if You have a 
Qualifying Event.  
 
Qualifying Event includes: 
 
 marriage; 

 the birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child; 

 divorce, legal separation or annulment; 

 the death of a dependent; 

 a change in Your or Your dependent's residence, if it causes You or Your dependent to gain or lose 
eligibility for group coverage; 

 a change in Your or Your dependent's employment status, such as beginning or ending employment, 
strike, lockout, taking or ending a leave of absence, changes in worksite or work schedule, if it causes 
You or Your dependent to gain or lose eligibility for group coverage; or 

 a significant curtailment in Your current option, a significant improvement in an option for which You are 
not enrolled, a significant increase or decrease in cost for one or more of the options under the 
Policyholder's plan or a new benefit option under the Policyholder's plan. 

 
If You have a Qualifying Event, You will have 60 days from the date of that change to make a request.  This 
request must be consistent with the nature of the Qualifying Event.  The insurance enrolled for or changes to 
Your insurance made as a result of a Qualifying Event will take effect for each enrolled Dependent on the first 
day of the month following the date of Your request, if You are Actively at Work on that date.  The Dependent 
is not required to give evidence of insurability for Dependent Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Insurance. 
 
Once You have enrolled one Child for a Dependent insurance benefit, each succeeding Child will 
automatically be covered for such insurance on the date that Child qualifies as a Dependent. 
 
If You are not Actively at Work on the date insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will take effect on 
the day You resume Active Work. 
 
Additional Requirement 
 
On the date Dependent insurance is scheduled to take effect, the Dependent must not be: 
 
 confined at home under a Physician's care; 

 receiving or applying to receive disability benefits from any source; or 

 Hospitalized. 

 
If the Dependent does not meet this requirement on such date, insurance for the Dependent will take effect on 
the date that Dependent is no longer: 
 
 confined; 

 receiving or applying to receive disability benefits from any source; or 

 Hospitalized. 
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The Additional Requirement will not apply to a mentally or physically handicapped Child who has been 
continuously handicapped since a date before the Child reached the limiting age under this certificate and for 
whom satisfactory Proof of such handicap has been provided as specified under the “Child” definition.   
 
DATE YOUR INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS 
 
A Dependent's insurance will end on the earliest of: 
 
1. for Dependent Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, the date all of Your Accidental 

Death and Dismemberment Insurance under the Group Policy ends; or 

2. the date You die; or 

3. the date the Group Policy ends; or 

4. the date You cease to be in an eligible class; or 

5. the date Insurance for Your Dependents ends under the Group Policy; or 

6. the date Insurance for Your Dependents ends for Your class; or 

7. the date the person ceases to be a Dependent; or 

8. the last day of the calendar month in which Your employment ends; Your employment will end if You 
cease to be Actively at Work in any eligible class, except as stated in the section entitled 
CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT; or 

9. for Utah residents, with respect to Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, the last 
day of the calendar month the Child ceases to be a Dependent; or 

10. for Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, the date You retire in accordance with the 
Policyholder’s retirement plan; or 

11. for a Child who is past the age limit and is otherwise eligible for coverage under the term Child or 
continuation under the CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT: For Mentally or 
Physically Handicapped Children subsection, on the date the Child marries; or 

12. with respect to contributory insurance, the end of the period for which the last contribution toward 
premium was paid by You. 

 
The ending of Dependent insurance will not prejudice a loss which occurred or a Disability which began while 
Dependent Insurance was in effect. 
 
In certain cases insurance may be continued as stated in the section entitled CONTINUATION OF 
INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT. 
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The following rules will apply if the AD&D Insurance under this Group Policy replaces other group 
AD&D insurance provided to You by the Policyholder. 
 
Prior Plan means the group AD&D insurance underwritten by another insurer and provided to 
You by the Policyholder on the day before the Replacement Date. 
 
Replacement Date means the effective date of the AD&D Insurance under this Group Policy. 
 
Rules if You or You and Your Dependent(s) were Covered Under the Prior Plan on the Day 
Before the Replacement Date: 
 
1. Actively at Work on the Replacement Date - If You or You and Your Dependent(s) were 

covered under the Prior Plan on the day before the Replacement Date and You are Actively 
at Work in an eligible class on the Replacement Date, You will be insured under this Group 
Policy for an amount of AD&D Insurance referred to as Active Employee Coverage.  The 
amount of the Active Employee Coverage on the Replacement Date will be the amount of 
Life Insurance described in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 

 
2. Not Actively at Work on the Replacement Date - If You or You and Your Dependent(s) 

were covered under the Prior Plan on the day before the Replacement Date and You are not 
Actively at Work on the Replacement Date, but You would otherwise be a member of an 
eligible class if You were Actively at Work on the Replacement Date, You will be insured 
under this Group Policy for an amount of AD&D Insurance referred to as Transition 
Coverage.  The amount of the Transition Coverage on the Replacement Date will be the 
lesser of: 

● the amount of group AD&D insurance in effect under the Prior Plan, and 

● the amount of AD&D Insurance available under this Group Policy for the eligible class 
to which You belong. 

 
While Transition Coverage is in effect, the amount of coverage will continue to be determined 
in accordance with the provisions of the plan used to determine the amount of Transition 
Coverage on the Replacement Date. 

 
If You are not Actively at Work on the Replacement Date due to a disability, Transition 
Coverage will remain in effect on and after the Replacement Date until the earliest of:  

● the date You return to Active Work as a member of an eligible class, at which time 
Active Employee Coverage will supersede the Transition Coverage;  

● the date AD&D Insurance would otherwise end in accordance with the terms and 
conditions of this certificate; 

● the date on which Your AD&D insurance under the Prior Plan would have ended for 
any reason other than the Prior Plan ending;  

● the date You are approved for extension of AD&D insurance without premium payment 
under the terms of Prior Plan; and 

● if the Prior Plan provided for extension of AD&D insurance without premium payment 
during a period of disability, the last day of the 12-month period following the 
Replacement Date. 
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In any other case where You are not Actively at Work on the Replacement Date, Transition 
Coverage will remain in effect on and after the Replacement Date until the earliest of: 

● the date You return to Active Work as a member of an eligible class, at which time Active 
Employee Coverage will supersede the Transition Coverage; and 

● the date AD&D Insurance would otherwise end in accordance with the terms and conditions 
of this certificate. 

 
Rules if You or You and Your Dependent(s) were NOT Covered Under the Prior Plan on the 
Day Before the Replacement Date: 
 
1. You will be eligible for the AD&D Insurance under this Group Policy when You meet the 

eligibility requirements for such insurance as described in ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: 
INSURANCE FOR YOU and ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE ON YOUR 
DEPENDENTS; and 

 
2. We will credit any time accumulated toward any eligibility waiting period under the Prior Plan 

to the satisfaction of any eligibility Waiting Period required to be met under this AD&D 
Insurance. 
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FOR MENTALLY OR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED CHILDREN 
 
Insurance for a Dependent Child may be continued past the age limit if the child is incapable of self-sustaining 
employment because of a mental or physical incapacity as defined by applicable law.  Proof of such 
incapacity must be sent to Us within 31 days after the date the Child attains the age limit and at reasonable 
intervals after such date. 
 
Subject to the DATE YOUR INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS subsection of the section 
entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS, insurance will continue while 
such Child: 
 
 remains incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical incapacity; and 
 continues to qualify as a Child, except for the age limit. 
 
FOR FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 
 
Certain leaves of absence may qualify for continuation of insurance under the Family and Medical Leave Act 
of 1993 (FMLA), or other legally mandated leave of absence or similar laws.  Please contact the Policyholder 
for information regarding such legally mandated leave of absence laws. 
 
AT YOUR OPTION: PORTABILITY 
 
For Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
 
If Your Portability Eligible Insurance or Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance ends for any of the reasons 
stated below, You have the option to continue that insurance under another group policy in accordance with 
the conditions and requirements of this section.  This is referred to as Porting.  Evidence of Your insurability 
will not be required. 
 
For purposes of this subsection the term "Portability Eligible Insurance" refers to Your Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance benefits for which the Portability Eligible Insurance is shown as available in the 
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 
 
If Insurance for Your Dependents is in effect, the term "Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance" refers to 
Your Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance for Your Dependents for which the Portability Eligible 
Dependent Insurance is shown as available in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 
 
When Porting is an Option 
 
Porting may only be exercised by a request in Writing during the Request Period specified below. 
 
1. You may choose to Port if Portability Eligible Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance and/or 

Portability Eligible Dependent Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance ends because: 

 You become retired from active service with the Employer; or 

 Your employment ends, due to a reason other than retirement; or 

 You cease to be in a class that is eligible for such insurance; or 

 the Policy is amended to end the Portability Eligible Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
or Portability Eligible Dependent Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, unless such 
insurance is replaced by similar insurance under another group insurance policy issued to the 
Policyholder or its successor; or 

 this Policy has ended, unless such insurance is replaced by similar insurance under another group 
insurance policy issued to the Policyholder or its successor. 
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2. You may choose to Port the reduced amount of insurance if Your Portability Eligible Insurance is reduced 
due to: 

 an amendment to the Plan which affects the amount of insurance for Your class. 

3. Your former Dependent Spouse may choose to Port if their Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance on 
his or her own life ends because: 

 You die; or 

 Your marriage ends in divorce or annulment 

provided that former Dependent Spouse satisfies the Additional Requirement subsection of the 
ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS; INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS.  

4. Your former Dependent Spouse may also Port Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance on Your 
Dependent Child if Your former Dependent Spouse Ports insurance on his or her own life.  If Your former 
Dependent Spouse Ports that insurance on that Dependent Child, that Porting will have no effect on the 
insurance You may have on that Dependent Child. 

5. Your former Dependent Child may request to Port Portability Eligible Dependent Insurance on his or her 
own life if that insurance ends because Your former Dependent Child no longer meets the definition of 
Child. 

If a request is made under this subsection, We will issue a new certificate of insurance which will explain the 
new insurance benefits. The insurance benefits under the new certificate may not be the same as those that 
ended under this Policy.  
 
A request under this subsection may be made, if on the date the ended, the following requirements are met: 
 
 the Group Policy is in effect;  
 
 the person making the request resides in a jurisdiction that permits this Portability feature. 
 
Request Period 
 
For You or a former Dependent to Port, We must receive a completed request form within the Request Period 
as described below. 
 
If written notice of the option to Port is given within 15 days before or after the date such insurance ends, the 
Request Period: 
 
 begins on the date the insurance ends, and  
 expires 31 days after the date. 
 
If written notice of the option to Port is given more than 15 days after but within 91 days of the date such 
insurance ends, the Request Period: 
 
 begins on the date the insurance ends, and 
 expires 45 days after the date of the notice. 
 
If written notice of the option to Port is not given within 91 days of the date such insurance ends, the Request 
Period: 
 
 begins on the date the insurance ends, and 
 expires at the end of such 91 day period. 
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Amount of the New Certificate 
 
The amount of Ported Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance for You and for Your Dependents 
that may be continued is shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. However, at the time of Porting You may 
change the amount of Portability Eligible Insurance in the following circumstances: 
 

Your Increase in Amount 
 

For Portability Eligible Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
 
At the time of Porting, You may increase the amount of Your Portability Eligible Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance. This may be done in increments of $25,000, up to a maximum ported 
amount of $2,000,000.  This increase will take effect on the date We state in Writing. 
 

Dependent Spouse Increase in Amount 
 

For Portability Eligible Dependent Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
 
At the time of Porting, the amount of Your Spouse’s (or Your former Dependent Spouse’s) Portability 
Eligible Dependent Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance may be increased.  This may be 
done in increments of $25,000; up to a maximum ported amount of $250,000.  This increase will take 
effect on the date We state in Writing. 
 

Dependent Child Increase in Amount 
 

Portability Eligible Dependent Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance 
 
At the time of Porting, the amount of Your former Dependent Child’s Portability Eligible Dependent 
Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance may be increased by $25,000.  This increase will 
take effect on the date We state in Writing. 
 

You and/or Your Dependent(s) Decrease in Amount 
 

If We receive a request to decrease an amount of insurance, any such decrease will take place on 
the date We state in Writing. 
 

Premiums for the New Certificate 
 
All premium payments must be made directly to Us.  When We issue the new certificate, We will also provide 
a schedule of premiums and payment instructions. 
 
You are not required to provide evidence of insurability to Port Your existing amount of Portability Eligible 
Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance. However, to qualify for a lower premium rate, You may give 
us, at Your expense, evidence of Your insurability satisfactory to Us.  If We determine that the evidence 
satisfies Us, We will notify You that the lower premium rates will apply to You. 
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AT THE POLICYHOLDER’S OPTION 
 
The Policyholder has elected to continue insurance by paying premiums for employees who cease Active 
Work in an eligible class for any of the reasons specified below:  
 
1. if You cease Active Work due to injury or sickness, for a period in accordance with the Policyholder’s general 

practice for an employee in Your job class; 

2 if You cease Active Work due to layoff, for a period in accordance with the Policyholder’s general practice for 
an employee in Your job class. 

3. if You cease Active Work due to any other  Policyholder approved leave of absence, for a period in 
accordance with the  Policyholder’s  general practice for an employee in Your job class. 

 
The Policyholder’s general practice for employees in a job class determines which employees with the above 
types of absences are to be considered as still insured and for how long among persons in like situations. 
 
At the end of any of the continuation periods listed above, Your insurance will be affected as follows: 
 
 if You resume Active Work in an eligible class at this time, You will continue to be insured under the 

Group Policy; 

 if You do not resume Active Work in an eligible class at this time, Your employment will be considered to 
end and Your insurance will end in accordance with the DATE YOUR INSURANCE ENDS subsection of 
the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOU. 

 
If Your insurance ends, Your Dependents’ insurance will also end in accordance with the DATE YOUR 
INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS ENDS subsection of the section entitled ELIGIBILITY 
PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS. 
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No evidence of insurability is required for the insurance described in this certificate. 
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If You or a Dependent sustain an accidental injury that is the Direct and Sole Cause of a Covered Loss 
described in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS, Proof of the accidental injury and Covered Loss must be sent to 
Us. When We receive such Proof We will review the claim. If We approve the claim We will pay the insurance 
in effect on the date of the injury within 30 days of Our receipt of such Proof. 
 
Direct and Sole Cause means that the Covered Loss occurs within 12 months of the date of the accidental 
injury and was a direct result of the accidental injury, independent of other causes. 
 
We will deem a loss to be the direct result of an accidental injury if it results from unavoidable exposure to the 
elements and such exposure was a direct result of an accident.   
 
PRESUMPTION OF DEATH 
 
You and/or a Dependent will be presumed to have died as a result of an accidental injury if: 
 
 the aircraft or other vehicle in which You and/or a Dependent were traveling disappears, sinks, or is 

wrecked; and 

 the body of the person who has disappeared is not found within 1 year of: 

 the date the aircraft or other vehicle was scheduled to have arrived at its destination, if traveling in an 
aircraft or other vehicle operated by a Common Carrier; or  

 the date the person is reported missing to the authorities, if traveling in any other aircraft or other 
vehicle. 

EXCLUSIONS (See notice page for residents of Missouri) 
 
We will not pay benefits under this section for any loss caused or contributed to by: 
 
1. physical illness or the diagnosis or treatment of such illness; 

2. infection, other than infection occurring in an external wound or from food poisoning or an infection which 
results from a crime unless the crime was a felony which You committed or attempted to commit; 

3. suicide or attempted suicide; 

4. self-inflicted injury by an insane person; 

5. service in the armed forces of any country or international authority. However, service in reserve forces 
does not constitute service in the armed forces, unless in connection with such reserve service an 
individual is on active military duty as determined by the applicable military authority other than weekend 
or summer training.  For purposes of this provision reserve forces are defined as reserve forces of any 
branch of the military of the United States or of any other country or international authority, including but 
not limited to the National Guard of the United States or the national guard of any other country; 

6. in the case of a loss sustained by You, Your committing or attempting to commit a felony; or for a loss 
sustained by Your Dependent, that Dependent's committing or attempting to commit a felony; 

7. in the case of a loss sustained by You, Your being under the influence of a narcotic; or for a loss 
sustained by Your Dependent, that Dependent's being under the influence of a narcotic; 

8. war, whether declared or undeclared; or act of war. 
 

Exclusion for Intoxication 
 
We will not pay benefits under this section for a loss sustained by You resulting from Your intoxication. We 
will not pay benefits under this section for a loss sustained by Your Dependent resulting from that 
Dependent's intoxication. 
 
Intoxicated means that Your or Your Dependents blood alcohol level met or exceeded the level that creates a 
legal presumption of intoxication under the laws of the jurisdiction in which the incident occurred. 
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COMMON DISASTER 
 
If You and Your Spouse are injured in the same accident and die within 365 days as a result of injuries in 
such accident, the Full Amount that we will pay for Your Spouse’s loss of life will be increased to equal the 
Full Amount payable for Your loss of life.  
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
 
For loss of Your life, We will pay benefits to Your Beneficiary. 
 
For any other loss sustained by You, or for any loss sustained by a Dependent, We will pay benefits to You. 
 
If You or a Dependent sustain more than one Covered Loss due to an accidental injury, the amount We will 
pay, on behalf of any such injured person, will not exceed the Full Amount. 
 
We will pay benefits in one sum. Other modes of payment may be available upon request. For details call Our 
toll free number shown on the Certificate Face Page. 
 
We will pay this benefit if the accidental injury occurred while this insurance was in effect even if the covered 
loss occurs after the insurance ends and the loss occurs within 90 days after the accident. 
 
If You and any Dependent die within a 24 hour period, We will pay the Dependent’s Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance to the Beneficiary receiving payment of Your Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment Insurance including payment of any Additional Benefits, or We may pay Your estate. If a 
Beneficiary is a minor or is incompetent to receive payment, We will pay that person’s guardian. 
 
APPLICABILITY OF PROVISIONS  
 
The provisions set forth in this ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE section apply to 
all Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance – Additional Benefit sections included in this certificate 
except as may otherwise be provided in such Additional Benefit sections. 
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ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: SEAT BELT USE 
 
If You or a Dependent die as a result of an accidental injury, We will pay this additional Seat Belt Use benefit 
if: 
 
1. We pay a benefit for loss of life under the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE 

section; 

2. this benefit is in effect on the date of the injury; and 

3. We receive Proof that the deceased person: 

 was in an accident while driving or riding as a passenger in a Passenger Car; 

 was wearing a Seat Belt which was properly fastened at the time of the accident; and 

 died as a result of injuries sustained in the accident. 

 
A police officer investigating the accident must certify that the Seat Belt was properly fastened.  A copy of 
such certification must be submitted to Us with the claim for benefits. 
 
Passenger Car means any validly registered four-wheel private passenger car, four-wheel drive vehicle, 
sports-utility vehicle, pick-up truck or mini-van. It does not include any commercially licensed car, any private 
car being used for commercial purposes, or any vehicle used for recreational or professional racing. 
 
Seat Belt means any restraint device that: 
 
 meets published United States Government safety standards; 

 is properly installed by the car manufacturer; and 

 is not altered after the installation. 

 
The term includes any child restraint device that meets the requirements of state law. 
 
BENEFIT AMOUNT 
 
The Seat Belt Use benefit is an additional benefit equal to 10% of the Full Amount shown in the SCHEDULE 
OF BENEFITS.  However, the amount We will pay for this benefit will not be less than $1,000 or more than 
$25,000. 
 
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
 
For loss of Your life, We will pay benefits to Your Beneficiary. 
 
For loss of a Dependent’s life, We will pay benefits to You. 
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ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: AIR BAG USE 
 
If You or a Dependent die as a result of an accidental injury, We will pay this additional benefit if: 
 
1.   We pay a benefit for loss of life under the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE 

section; 
 
2.   this benefit is in effect on the date of the injury; and 
 
3.   We receive Proof that the deceased person: 
 

● was in an accident while driving or riding as a passenger in a Passenger Car equipped with an Air 
Bag(s); 

 
● was riding in a seat protected by an Air Bag;  
 
● was wearing a Seat Belt which was properly fastened at the time of the accident; and  
 
● died as a result of injuries sustained in the accident. 

 
A police officer investigating the accident must certify that the Seat Belt was properly fastened and that the 
Passenger Car in which the deceased was traveling was equipped with Air Bags. A copy of such certification 
must be submitted to Us with the claim for benefits. 
 
Passenger Car means any validly registered four-wheel private passenger car, four-wheel drive vehicle, 
sports-utility vehicle, pick-up truck or mini-van. It does not include any commercially licensed car, any private 
car being used for commercial purposes, or any vehicle used for recreational or professional racing. 
 
Seat Belt means any restraint device that: 
 
 meets published United States government safety standards; 

 is properly installed by the car manufacturer; and 

 is not altered after the installation. 

 
The term includes any child restraint device that meets the requirements of state law. 
 
Air Bag means an inflatable restraint device that: 
 
 meets published United States government safety standards; 

 is properly installed by the car manufacturer; and 

 is not altered after the installation. 

 
BENEFIT AMOUNT 
 
The Air Bag Use Benefit is an additional benefit equal to 5% of the Full Amount shown in the SCHEDULE OF 
BENEFITS. However, the amount We will pay for this benefit will not be less than $1,000 or more than 
$10,000.  
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
 
For loss of Your life, We will pay benefits to Your Beneficiary. 
 
For a loss of a Dependent's life, We will pay benefits to You. 
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If You or Your Spouse die as a result of an accidental injury, We will pay this additional Child Care benefit if: 
 
1.   We pay a benefit for loss of such person's life under the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT 

INSURANCE section;  

2.   this benefit is in effect on the date of the injury; and 

3.   We receive Proof that: 

● on the date of death a Child was enrolled in a Child Care Center; or 

● within 12 months after the date of death a Child was enrolled in a Child Care Center. 
 
Child Care Center means a facility that: 
 
● is operated and licensed according to the law of the jurisdiction where it is located; and 

● provides care and supervision for children in a group setting on a regularly scheduled and daily basis.  
 
BENEFIT AMOUNT 
 
For each Child who qualifies for this benefit, We will pay an amount equal to the Child Care Center charges 
incurred for a period of up to 4 consecutive years, not to exceed: 
 
● an annual maximum of $5,000; and 

● an overall maximum of 12% of the Full Amount shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.   

 
In the event that both You and Your Spouse die such that each death would cause a payment to be made for 
a Child under this Additional Benefit, the following rules apply: 
 

 the annual maximum will be 2 times the amount stated above; 

 the overall maximum will be equal to the stated percentage applied to the sum of the Full Amounts 
shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS for both You and Your Spouse; and 

 in no event will the amount paid under all Child Care benefits exceed the amount of Child Care 
charges incurred.  

 
We will not pay for Child Care Center charges incurred after the date a Child attains age 13.  
 
We may require Proof of the Child’s continued enrollment in a Child Care Center during the period for which a 
benefit is claimed. 
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
 
We will pay this benefit no later than 30 days from when We receive Proof that Child Care Center charges 
have been incurred. Payment will be made to the person who incurs such charges on behalf of the Child. 
 
If this benefit is in effect on the date You or Your Spouse die and there is no Child who could qualify for it, We 
will pay $1,000 to Your Beneficiary in one sum. 
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ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: CHILD EDUCATION 
 
If You or Your Spouse die as a result of an accidental injury, We will pay this additional Child Education 
benefit if: 
 
1. We pay a benefit for loss of such person's life under the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT 

INSURANCE section; 

2. this benefit is in effect on the date of the injury; and 

3. We receive Proof that on the date of death a Child was: 

 enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited college, university or vocational school above the 12th 
grade level; or 

 at the 12th grade level and, within one year after the date of death, enrolls as a full-time student in an 
accredited college, university or vocational school.  

 
BENEFIT AMOUNT 
 
For each Child who qualifies for this benefit, We will pay an amount equal to the tuition charges incurred for a 
period of up to 4 consecutive academic years, not to exceed:  
 
 an academic year maximum of $10,000; and 

 an overall maximum of 20% of the Full Amount shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 

In the event that both You and Your Spouse die such that each death would cause a payment to be made for 
a Child under this Additional Benefit, the following rules apply: 
 

 the academic year maximum will be 2 times the amount stated above;  

 the overall maximum will be equal to the stated percentage applied to the sum of the Full Amounts 
shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS for both You and Your Spouse; and 

 in no event will the amount paid under all Child Education benefits exceed the amount of tuition 
incurred. 

 
We may require Proof of the Child’s continued enrollment as a full-time student during the period for which a 
benefit is claimed. 
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
 
We will pay this benefit no later than 30 days from when We receive Proof that tuition charges have been 
incurred. Payment will be made to the person who incurs such charges on behalf of the Child. 
 
If this benefit is in effect on the date of death and there is no Child who could qualify for it, We will pay $1,000 
to Your Beneficiary in one sum. 
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ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: SPOUSE EDUCATION 
 
If You die as a result of an accidental injury, We will pay this additional Spouse Education benefit if: 
 
1. We pay a benefit for loss of life under the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE 

section;  

2. this benefit is in effect on the date of the injury; and 

3. We receive Proof that: 

● on the date of Your death, Your Spouse was enrolled in an accredited school; or 

● within 12 months after the date of Your death, Your Spouse enrolls in an accredited school. 

 
BENEFIT AMOUNT 
 
We will pay an amount equal to the tuition charges incurred for a period of up to 1 academic year, not to 
exceed: 
 
 an academic year maximum of $5,000; and 

 an overall maximum of 3% of the Full Amount shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS.  

 
We may require Proof of the Spouse’s continued enrollment during the period for which a benefit is claimed. 
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
 
We will pay this benefit semi-annually when We receive Proof that tuition charges have been paid. Payment 
will be made to the Spouse. 
 
If this benefit is in effect on the date You die and there is no Spouse who could qualify for it, We will pay 
$1,000 to Your Beneficiary in one sum. 
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ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: HOSPITAL CONFINEMENT 
 
Subject to the provisions of the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE, We will pay 
this additional benefit if: 
 
1. We receive Proof that You or a Dependent are confined in a Hospital as a result of an accidental injury 

which is the direct cause of such confinement independent of other causes; and 

2. this benefit is in effect on the date of the injury. 

 
BENEFIT AMOUNT 
 
We will pay an amount for each full month of Hospital Confinement equal to the lesser of: 
 
 1% of the Full Amount shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS; and 

 $2,500. 

 
We will pay this benefit on a monthly basis beginning on the 5th day of confinement, for up to 12 months of 
continuous confinement. This benefit will be paid on a pro-rata basis for any partial month of confinement. 
 
We will only pay benefits for one period of continuous confinement for any accidental injury. That period will 
be the first period of confinement that qualifies for payment. 
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
 
Benefit payments will be made monthly. Payment will be made to You. 
 
 
EXTENSION OF BENEFITS 
 
We will pay this benefit if the accidental injury occurred while this insurance was in effect even if the covered 
loss occurs after the insurance ends until the earlier of: 
 
 the date You are discharged from the hospital;  

 the maximum monthly benefit period; or 

 12 months after the date coverage terminates. 
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If You or a Dependent die as a result of an accidental injury, We will pay this additional benefit if: 
 
1.   We pay a benefit for loss of life under the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE 

section; 
 
2.   this benefit is in effect on the date of the injury; and 
 
3.   We receive Proof that the injury resulting in the deceased’s death occurred while traveling in a Common 

Carrier.  
 
BENEFIT AMOUNT 
 
The Common Carrier Benefit is shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 
 
BENEFIT PAYMENT 
 
For loss of Your life, We will pay benefits to Your Beneficiary. 
 
For a loss of a Dependent’s life, We will pay benefits to You. 
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CLAIMS FOR ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFITS 
 
When there has been a Covered Loss, notify Us by calling 1-866-574-2863.  This notice should be given to 
Us as soon as is reasonably possible but in any case within 20 days of the Covered Loss.  The claim form will 
be sent to You or the beneficiary or beneficiaries of record. 
 
The claim form should be completed and sent along with Proof of the Covered Loss to Us as instructed on the 
claim form. If You or the beneficiary have not received a claim form within 15 days of giving notice of the 
claim, Proof may be sent using any form sufficient to provide Us with the required Proof. 
 
The claimant must give us Proof no later than 90 days after the date of the Covered Loss. 
 
If notice of claim or Proof is not given within the time limits described in this section, the delay will not cause a 
claim to be denied or reduced if such notice or Proof are given as soon as is reasonably possible.  
 
When We receive the claim form and Proof, We will review the claim and, if We approve it, We will pay 
benefits subject to the terms and provisions of this certificate and the Group Policy. The benefit amount may 
be reduced by the amount of any due and unpaid contributions to premium outstanding at the time We make 
payment. 
 
Time Limit on Legal Actions.  A legal action on a claim may only be brought against Us during a certain 
period.  This period begins 60 days after the date Proof is filed and ends 3 years after the date such Proof is 
required. 
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Assignment 
 
The rights and benefits under the Group Policy are not assignable prior to a claim for benefits, except as 
required by law.  We are not responsible for the validity of an assignment. 
 
Beneficiary 
 
You may designate a Beneficiary in Your application or enrollment form. You may change Your Beneficiary at 
any time.  To do so, You must send a Signed and dated, Written request to Us using a form satisfactory to 
Us. Your Written request to change the Beneficiary must be sent to Us within 30 days of the date You Sign 
such request. 
 
You do not need the Beneficiary’s consent to make a change.  When We receive the change, it will take effect 
as of the date You Signed it.  The change will not apply to any payment made in good faith by Us before the 
change request was recorded. 
 
If two or more Beneficiaries are designated and their shares are not specified, they will share the insurance 
equally. 
 
If there is no Beneficiary designated or no surviving Beneficiary at Your death, We will determine the 
Beneficiary according to the following order: 
 
1. Your Spouse, if alive; 

2. Your child(ren), if there is no surviving Spouse; 

3. Your parent(s), if there is no surviving child; 

4. Your sibling(s), if there is no surviving parent; or 

5. Your estate, if there is no surviving sibling. 

 
Any payment made in good faith will discharge our liability to the extent of such payment. 
 
If a Beneficiary or a payee is a minor or incompetent to receive payment, We will pay that person’s guardian. 
 
Entire Contract 
 
Your insurance is provided under a contract of group insurance with the Policyholder. The entire contract with 
the Policyholder is made up of the following: 
 
1.   the Group Policy and its Exhibits, which include the certificate(s); 
2.   the Policyholder's application, attached to the Group Policy; and 
3.   any amendments and/or endorsements to the Group Policy. 
 
A change in the policy will not be valid: 
 
1. until approved by an executive officer of MetLife; and 

2. unless the approval is endorsed on the policy or attached to the policy. 
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Contestability: Statements Made by You  
 
In the absence of fraud, any statement made by You will be considered a representation and not a warranty. 
We will not use such statement to avoid insurance, reduce benefits or defend a claim unless the following 
requirements are met: 
 
1.   the statement is in a Written application or enrollment form; 

2.   You have Signed the application or enrollment form; and 

3.   a copy of the application or enrollment form has been given to You or Your Beneficiary. 
 
Contestability:  Statements Made by the Policyholder 
  
In the absence of fraud, any statement made by the Policyholder will be considered a representation and not a 
warranty.  We will not use such statement to avoid insurance, reduce benefits or defend a claim, except for non-
payment of premium, unless: 
 
1. it is contained in a Written application signed by the Policyholder; and  

2. a copy of the application is given to the Policyholder. 

 
We will not contest insurance after it has been in force for 2 years from its effective date, except for non-
payment of premium. 
 
Misstatement of Age 
 
If Your age is misstated, the correct age will be used to determine if insurance is in effect and, as appropriate, 
We will adjust the benefits and/or premiums. 
Conformity with Law 
 
If the terms and provisions of this certificate do not conform to any applicable law, this certificate shall be 
interpreted to so conform. 
 
Physical Exams 
 
If a claim is submitted for insurance benefits, We have the right to ask the insured to be examined by a 
Physician(s) of Our choice as often as is reasonably necessary to process the claim.  We will pay the cost of 
such exam. 
 
Autopsy  
 
We have the right to make a reasonable request for an autopsy where permitted by law.  Any such request 
will set forth the reasons We are requesting the autopsy.  We will pay the cost of such autopsy. 
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Delaware American Life Insurance Company 
MetLife Health Plans, Inc. 
MetLife Legal Plans, Inc. 
MetLife Legal Plans of Florida, Inc. 
 

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
Metropolitan Tower Life Insurance Company 
SafeGuard Health Plans, Inc. 
SafeHealth Life Insurance Company 
 

Our Privacy Notice 

We know that you buy our products and services because you trust us. This notice explains how we protect 
your privacy and treat your personal information. It applies to current and former customers. “Personal 
information” as used here means anything we know about you personally. 

SECTION 1: Plan Sponsors and Group Insurance Contract Holders 

This privacy notice is for individuals who apply for or obtain our products and services under an employee 
benefit plan, group insurance or annuity contract, or as an executive benefit. In this notice, “you” refers to 
these individuals. 

SECTION 2: Protecting Your Information 
We take important steps to protect your personal information. We treat it as confidential. We tell our 
employees to take care in handling it. We limit access to those who need it to perform their jobs. Our outside 
service providers must also protect it, and use it only to meet our business needs. We also take steps to 
protect our systems from unauthorized access. We comply with all laws that apply to us. 

SECTION 3: Collecting Your Information 

We typically collect your name, address, age, and other relevant information. We may also collect information 
about any business you have with us, our affiliates, or other companies. Our affiliates include life, car, and 
home insurers. They also include a legal plans company, and a securities broker-dealer. In the future, we may 
also have affiliates in other businesses. 

SECTION 4: How We Get Your Information 
We get your personal information mostly from you. We may also use outside sources to help ensure our 
records are correct and complete. These sources may include consumer reporting agencies, employers, other 
financial institutions, adult relatives, and others. These sources may give us reports or share what they know 
with others. We don’t control the accuracy of information outside sources give us. If you want to make any 
changes to information we receive from others about you, you must contact those sources. 

We may ask for medical information. The Authorization that you sign when you request insurance permits 
these sources to tell us about you. We may also, at our expense: 

 Ask for a medical exam  Ask for blood and urine tests 
 Ask health care providers to give us health data, including information about alcohol or drug abuse 

We may also ask a consumer reporting agency for a “consumer report” about you (or anyone else to be 
insured). Consumer reports may tell us about a lot of things, including information about: 

 Reputation  Driving record  Finances 
 Work and work history  Hobbies and dangerous 

activities 

The information may be kept by the consumer reporting agency and later given to others as permitted by law. 
The agency will give you a copy of the report it provides to us, if you ask the agency and can provide 
adequate identification. If you write to us and we have asked for a consumer report about you, we will tell you 
so and give you the name, address and phone number of the consumer reporting agency. 

Another source of information is MIB, Inc. (“MIB”). It is a not-for-profit membership organization of insurance 
companies which operates an information exchange on behalf of its Members. We, or our reinsurers, may 
make a brief report to MIB. If you apply to another MIB Member company for life or health insurance 
coverage, or a claim for benefits is submitted, MIB, upon request, will supply such company with the 
information in its file. Upon receipt of a request from you MIB will arrange disclosure of any information it may 
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have in your file. Please contact MIB at 866-692-6901. If you question the accuracy of information in MIB’s 
file, you may contact MIB and seek a correction in accordance with the procedures set forth in the federal Fair 
Credit Reporting Act. You may do so by writing to MIB, Inc., 50 Braintree Hill, Suite 400, Braintree, MA 02184-
8734 or go to MIB website at www.mib.com. 

SECTION 5: Using Your Information 

We collect your personal information to help us decide if you’re eligible for our products or services. We may 
also need it to verify identities to help deter fraud, money laundering, or other crimes. How we use this 
information depends on what products and services you have or want from us. It also depends on what laws 
apply to those products and services. For example, we may also use your information to: 

 administer your products and services  process claims and other transactions 
 perform business research  confirm or correct your information 
 market new products to you  help us run our business 
 comply with applicable laws  

SECTION 6: Sharing Your Information With Others 

We may share your personal information with others with your consent, by agreement, or as permitted or 
required by law. We may share your personal information without your consent if permitted or required by law. 
For example, we may share your information with businesses hired to carry out services for us. We may also 
share it with our affiliated or unaffiliated business partners through joint marketing agreements. In those 
situations, we share your information to jointly offer you products and services or have others offer you 
products and services we endorse or sponsor. Before sharing your information with any affiliate or joint 
marketing partner for their own marketing purposes, however, we will first notify you and give you an 
opportunity to opt out. 

Other reasons we may share your information include: 

 doing what a court, law enforcement, or government agency requires us to do (for example, 
complying with search warrants or subpoenas)  

 telling another company what we know about you if we are selling or merging any part of our 
business 

 giving information to a governmental agency so it can decide if you are eligible for public benefits  
 giving your information to someone with a legal interest in your assets (for example, a creditor with a 

lien on your account) 
 giving your information to your health care provider 
 having a peer review organization evaluate your information, if you have health coverage with us 
 those listed in our “Using Your Information” section above 

SECTION 7: HIPAA 

We will not share your health information with any other company – even one of our affiliates – for their own 
marketing purposes. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (“HIPAA”) protects your 
information if you request or purchase dental, vision, long-term care and/or medical insurance from us. HIPAA 
limits our ability to use and disclose the information that we obtain as a result of your request or purchase of 
insurance. Information about your rights under HIPAA will be provided to you with any dental, vision, long-
term care or medical coverage issued to you. 

You may obtain a copy of our HIPAA Privacy Notice by visiting our website at www.MetLife.com. For 
additional information about your rights under HIPAA; or to have a HIPAA Privacy Notice mailed to you, 
contact us at HIPAAprivacyAmericasUS@metlife.com, or call us at telephone number (212) 578-0299. 

SECTION 8: Accessing and Correcting Your Information 

You may ask us for a copy of the personal information we have about you. We will provide it as long as it is 
reasonably locatable and retrievable. You must make your request in writing listing the account or policy 
numbers with the information you want to access. For legal reasons, we may not show you privileged 
information relating to a claim or lawsuit, unless required by law.  
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If you tell us that what we know about you is incorrect, we will review it. If we agree, we will update our 
records. Otherwise, you may dispute our findings in writing, and we will include your statement whenever we 
give your disputed information to anyone outside MetLife. 

SECTION 9: Questions 

We want you to understand how we protect your privacy.  If you have any questions or want more information 
about this notice, please contact us. A detailed notice shall be furnished to you upon request. When you write, 
include your name, address, and policy or account number. 

Send privacy questions to: 

 

MetLife Privacy Office 
P. O. Box 489 
Warwick, RI 02887-9954 
privacy@metlife.com 

We may revise this privacy notice. If we make any material changes, we will notify you as required by law.  
We provide this privacy notice to you on behalf of the MetLife companies listed at the top of the first page. 

 


